

College of
LETTERS & SCIENCE

# Department of Mathematical Sciences

- Mathematics
- Math Education
- Statistics

# DEPARTMENT OF MATHEMATICAL SCIENCES 2008

#### FACULTY AWARDS AND HONORS

- College of Letters and Science Distinguished Professor
  - John Borkowski
- College of Letters and Science Outstanding Adjunct Teaching Award
  - Shae Thompson
- Fulbright Award
  - John Borkowski
- Sabbatical
  - Tomas Gedeon
  - Mark Pernarowski
- Visiting Professor at Thammasat University, Bangkok, Thailand
  - John Borkowski

#### **SERVICE**

- Associate Editor
  - John Borkowski The American Statistician
  - John Borkowski Journal of Probability and Statistical Science
  - Tomas Gedeon Discrete and Continuous Dynamical Systems B
  - Tomas Gedeon Journal of the American Institute of Mathematical Sciences
  - Tomas Gedeon Rocky Mountain Journal of Mathematics
- Association of Mathematics Teacher Educators
  - Beth Burroughs NCTM Review Task Force
- College of Letters and Science
  - Robert Boik Promotion & Tenure Committee
  - Ken Bowers Budget Advisory Committee
- Core 2.0 Committee (C2C)
  - Steve Cherry Quantitative representative
- Editor
  - Maurice Burke National Council of Teachers of Mathematics Navigations Series
- Editorial Board
  - Robert Boik Psychological Methods
  - John Borkowski Journal of Quality Technology
  - John Borkowski Thailand Statistician

2-214 Wilson Hall P. O. Box 172400 Bozeman, MT 59717-2400 www.math.montana.edu

Tel (406) 994-3601 Fax (406) 994-1789 math@math.montana.edu

## • Faculty Senate

- Steve Cherry
- Russ Walker, Alternate
- Steve Cherry Steering Committee
- Steve Cherry Academic Affairs Committee

# • Interagency Grizzly Bear Study Team

- Steve Cherry, Affiliate

# • Library Representative

- Jarek Kwapisz

#### • MSSE

Maurice Burke - Faculty Steering Committee

# • Mathematical Association of America

- Beth Burroughs - Committee on the Mathematical Education of Teachers

## • Montana Chapter of the American Statistical Association

- John Borkowski Secretary/Treasurer
- Steve Cherry Ombudsman
- Mark Greenwood Chapter Representative
- Megan Higgs President
- Kathi Irvine Vice-President

#### • Montana Council of Teachers of Mathematics (MCTM)

- Maurice Burke SIMMS-IM Board of Directors
- Jennie Luebeck Creating Opportunity in Mathematics for Exemplary Teaching (COMET)
- Jennie Luebeck Board of Directors

#### • Montana Learning Center for Mathematics and Science

- Jennie Luebeck - Board of Directors

#### • Montana Mathematics Standards Revision Team

Jennie Luebeck

# • Montana Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education

- Ken Bowers Mathematics Faculty Learning Outcomes Council
- Steve Cherry General Education Council
- Warren Esty Mathematics Faculty Learning Outcomes Council

## • Montana State University

- Maurice Burke Grievance Committee
- Maurice Burke Property Rights Committee
- Maurice Burke Rhodes & Truman Scholarship Interview Committee
- Beth Burroughs University Teacher Education Committee
- Steve Cherry Promotion & Tenure Implementation Committee
- Jack Dockery University Promotion & Tenure Committee
- Jennie Luebeck University Teacher Education Committee
- John Lund Chair, Parking Appeals Board
- Montana University System Transfer Initiative
  - Russ Walker MSU Unit Coordinator
- Northern Yellowstone Carnivore Working Group
  - Steve Cherry, Affiliate
- Putnam Exam Coordinator
  - Richard Swanson
- Whitebark Pine Monitoring Working Group
  - Steve Cherry, Affiliate

#### STUDENT AWARDS AND HONORS

- Frieda M. Bull Scholarship Recipient
  - Autumn Laughbaum
- College of Letters and Science Outstanding GTA Award
  - Jon Wixson
- Honors Program Students
  - Matthew Beamer
  - Elisabeth Brown
  - Casey Donoven
  - Steven Harris-Weiel
  - Gabriel Kelley
  - Alexis Lund
  - Nathaniel Mussetter
  - Jonathan Reddinger
  - Kenneth Rice Graduated (2008)
  - Tess Ritter

- Boyard Tiberi
- MSU Alumni Association and Bozeman Area Chamber of Commerce Awards for Excellence 42 top MSU seniors
  - Elisabeth Brown
- Mathematical Sciences Outstanding GTA Award
  - Andrea Katz
  - Kim Nordby
  - Carl Olimb
- Mathematical Sciences Outstanding Senior Award
  - Matthew Beamer
  - Elisabeth Brown
  - Chris Gilstrap
  - Erik Haagenson
  - Heidi Hanson
  - Steven Harris Weiel
  - Gabriel Kelley
  - Cori Lee
  - Michael Lenander
  - Brian Mattison
  - Tia Murphy
  - Allison Zabrocki
- Mathematical Sciences Outstanding Scholar Awards
  - Melissa Bradley
  - Seth Chart
  - Eli Dean
  - Katie Deister
  - Aaron Harkins
  - John Kirtley
  - Autumn Laughbaum
  - Carrie Marshall
  - Jill Roberts
  - Jennifer Scanlon
  - Garret Vo

- NSF Summer Research in Norway
  - Kelly Alsup
  - Boyard Tiberi
- President's List 4.00 semester GPA
  - John Kirtley spring 2008
  - Matthew Beamer fall 2008
  - Danielle Burrington fall 2008
  - Jennifer Classen fall 2008
  - Casey Donoven fall 2008
  - Alexis Lund fall 2008
  - Tessa Mosdal fall 2008
- Presidential Scholars 15-20 full ride MSU scholarships awarded each year
  - Matthew Beamer
  - Casey Donoven
  - Kenneth Rice

### ALUMNI AWARDS, CAREERS, AND HONORS

- Associate Director Center for Research in Scientific Computation
  - Ralph Smith (M.S. 1987, Ph.D. 1990)
- Director NSF Research Training Group: Mathematics of Materials
  - Ralph Smith (M.S. 1987, Ph.D. 1990)
- Senior Mathematical Statistician Division of Science Resources Statistics, National Science Foundation
  - Jeri Metzger Mulrow (B.S. 1982)
- Quality Assurance Engineer RightNow Technologies
  - Sarah Jensen (B.S. 2006, M.S. 2008)
- Chair SIAM Activity Group on Control and Systems Theory
  - Ralph Smith (M.S. 1987, Ph.D. 1990)
- Wixson Endowed Professorship of Mathematics Plymouth State University
  - Brian Beaudrie (Ed.D. 2000)
- Quality Assurance Engineer Zoot Enterprises
  - Teresa Lannen (B.S. 2008)