

Department of Mathematical Sciences

- Mathematics
- Math Education
- Statistics

DEPARTMENT OF MATHEMATICAL SCIENCES 2010

FACULTY AWARDS AND HONORS

- Center for Biofilm Engineering Faculty Research Award
 - Isaac Klapper
- College of Letters and Science Award for Meritorious Research
 - Tomas Gedeon
- College of Letters and Science Distinguished Professor
 - John Borkowski
- MSU Alumni Association and Bozeman Area Chamber of Commerce Awards for Excellence Faculty selection by each of 40 top MSU seniors
 - Warren Esty (selected by Jamie Thornton)
- MSU Cox Faculty Award for Creative Scholarship and Teaching
 - Tomas Gedeon
- Research Methods Division of the Academy of Management Best Publication in Research Methods
 - Robert Boik
- Visiting Professor at Thammasat University, Bangkok, Thailand
 - John Borkowski

SERVICE

- Associate Editor
 - John Borkowski Journal of Probability and Statistical Science
 - Tomas Gedeon Discrete and Continuous Dynamical Systems B
 - Curt Vogel SIAM Journal on Numerical Analysis
- Association of Mathematics Teacher Educators
 - Beth Burroughs NCTM Review Task Force
- College of Letters and Science
 - Isaac Klapper Promotion & Tenure Committee
 - Ken Bowers Budget Advisory Committee
- Core 2.0 Committee (C2C)
 - John Borkowski Quantitative representative
- Editor
 - Maurice Burke National Council of Teachers of Mathematics Navigations Series
 - Jennie Luebeck 7th Annual Monograph of the Association of Mathe-

2-214 Wilson Hall P. O. Box 172400 Bozeman, MT 59717-2400 www.math.montana.edu

Tel (406) 994-3601 Fax (406) 994-1789 math@math.montana.edu

- matics Teacher Educators
- Isaac Klapper Special issue of *Physica D*

• Editorial Board

- Robert Boik Psychological Methods
- John Borkowski Journal of Quality Technology
- John Borkowski Thailand Statistician
- Mark Greenwood InterStat

• Faculty Senate

- Steve Cherry
- Russ Walker, Alternate
- Steve Cherry Steering Committee
- Steve Cherry Academic Affairs Committee

• Interagency Grizzly Bear Study Team

- Steve Cherry, Affiliate
- Library Representative
 - Jarek Kwapisz

• MSSE

- Maurice Burke Faculty Steering Committee
- Mathematical Association of America
 - Beth Burroughs Committee on the Mathematical Education of Teachers
- Montana Chapter of the American Statistical Association
 - John Borkowski Secretary/Treasurer
 - Steve Cherry Ombudsman
 - Mark Greenwood Chapter Representative
 - Megan Higgs President
 - Kathi Irvine Vice-President

• Montana Council of Teachers of Mathematics (MCTM)

- Maurice Burke SIMMS-IM Board of Directors
- Beth Burroughs Board of Directors
- Jennie Luebeck Board of Directors

• Montana Learning Center for Mathematics and Science

- Jennie Luebeck - Board of Directors

- Montana Mathematics Standards Revision Team
 - Jennie Luebeck
- Montana Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education
 - Ken Bowers Mathematics Faculty Learning Outcomes Council
 - Steve Cherry General Education Council
 - Warren Esty Mathematics Faculty Learning Outcomes Council
- Montana State University
 - Ken Bowers MSU System Security Committee
 - Maurice Burke Intellectual Property Committee
 - Beth Burroughs University Teacher Education Committee
 - Isaac Klapper Computer Fee Allocation Committee
 - Jennie Luebeck University Teacher Education Committee
 - John Lund Chair, Parking Appeals Board
- Montana University System Transfer Initiative
 - Russ Walker MSU Unit Coordinator
- Northern Yellowstone Carnivore Working Group
 - Steve Cherry, Affiliate
- Putnam Exam Coordinator
 - Lukas Geyer
- Whitebark Pine Monitoring Working Group
 - Steve Cherry, Affiliate

STUDENT AWARDS AND HONORS

- Big Sky Conference Scholar-Athlete
 - Jamie Thornton
- Frieda M. Bull Scholarship Recipient
 - Autumn Laughbaum
- College of Letters and Science Outstanding GTA Award
 - Carl Olimb
- Fulbright Fellowship
 - Jill Roberts
- Honors Program Students
 - Andrew Albers Graduated 2010

- Chelsea Bourque
- Casey Donoven
- Kevin Ferris
- Elizabeth Geise
- Eric Lake
- Hunter Lapp
- Brandon Norick
- Ethan Perry
- Chris Ryan
- Jakob Schultz
- Jeremy Schwend
- Coral Strom

• Mathematical Sciences Outstanding GTA Award

- Corinne Casolara
- John Long

• Mathematical Sciences Most Outstanding Graduating Senior

- Jamie Thornton

• Mathematical Sciences Outstanding Senior Award

- Patricia Hurin
- Carrie Marshall
- Micaela Newman
- Jill Roberts
- James Shindoll

• Mathematical Sciences Outstanding Scholar Awards

- Danielle Burrington
- Casey Donoven
- Eric Lake
- Autumn Laughbaum
- Brandon Norick
- Jeremy Schwend
- Lyne Tchapmi Petse
- Shuai Zhao

• Montana Space Grant Consortium

- Shane Nowack Fellowship
- Jeremy Schwend Scholarship
- MSU Alumni Association and Bozeman Area Chamber of Commerce Awards for Excellence 42 top MSU seniors
 - Jamie Thornton
- MSU Student of Achievement
 - Jamie Thornton

• Pi Mu Epsilon Inductees

- Cheryl Ehresmann
- Eric Lake
- Sally Patterson
- Michael Schwager
- Lyndi Seidensticker
- Kelly Spendlove
- Christina Watts
- Shuai Zhao

• President's List 4.00 semester GPA

- Andrew Albers fall 2010
- Thomas Blake spring 1010, fall 2010
- Casey Donoven spring 2010, fall 2010
- Kevin Ferris fall 2010
- Elizabeth Geise fall 2010
- Danielle Hethcox fall 2010
- Patricia Hurin spring 2010
- Tara Markuson fall 2010
- Micaela Newman spring 2010
- Brandon Norick spring 2010
- Stephanie Oullette spring 2010
- Alyssa Peck spring 2010
- Ethan Perry spring 2010
- Jill Roberts spring 2010
- Jeremy Schwend spring 2010

- Lyndi Seidensticker fall 2010
- Jim Shindoll spring 2010
- Lyne Tchapmi Petse spring 2010
- Jamie Thornton spring 2010
- Katelyn Weber fall 2010
- Reed Witherspoon fall 2010
- Rachelle Wood spring 2010
- Shuai Zhao spring 2010, fall 2010
- Presidential Scholars 15-20 full ride MSU scholarships awarded each year
 - Hunter Lapp
 - Casey Donoven
- Schmitt Family Mathematics Education Scholarship
 - Andrew Albers

ALUMNI AWARDS, CAREERS, AND HONORS

- Associate Director Center for Research in Scientific Computation
 - Ralph Smith (M.S. 1987, Ph.D. 1990)
- Assistant Professor Department of Mathematical Sciences, Clemson University
 - Julia Sharp (M.S. 2001, Ph.D. 2007)
- Fast Enterprises
 - Steve Koepele (M.S. 1998)
- Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services
 - Cody Custis (M.S. 2006)
- Director of Benefits Montana University System
 - Connie Welsh (M.S. 1987)
- Quality Assurance Engineer RightNow Technologies
 - Sarah Jensen (B.S. 2006, M.S. 2008)
- Quality Assurance Engineer Zoot Enterprises
 - Teresa Lannen (B.S. 2008)